Homepage  History  Products  Production  Material  Distributors  Retail Store  Links  Download  Contact  Approach  Imprint
 Steiff Schulte
 Webmanufaktur GmbH
 Holteistraße 8
 D - 47057 Duisburg
 fon: +49 (0)203.99398-0
 fax: +49 (0)203.99398-50
Textversion

 
 
 Mohair  Alpaca

ALPACA: Inca Gold
 
There are few things in this world that have retained their rarity and distinctiveness for centuries. Even during the realm of the Incas, rare and luxurious alpaca fleece was worth its weight in gold.

The Alpaca is most closely related to the vicuña, a rigorously protected species belonging to the same genus as the llama.
 
They are rare animals found in half-domesticated herds inhabiting the valleys of the Andes at altitudes of up to 4000 metres. Their lightweight and very robust coats protect them from the extreme temperature differences between day and night that are so typical of their natural habitat.

Because of its extraordinarily qualities, alpaca hair is ranked among the finest and most exquisite fibres that nature has to offer. It is characterised by its particular delicacy; its fleece (shorn hair) is extremely long, lightly crimped and remarkably soft.
 
The collection of this noble hair does not require any animals to be harmed!
 
The South American Indians carefully shear their herds by hand every two years. The precious fleece is carefully sorted according to colour tone and quality and then sent to the Peruvian seaport of Arequipa, the centre for international trade of alpaca hair, to be sold.
 
Only the finest raw fibres with unaltered natural colours qualify for the long journey to expert European spinners. It is from those specialists that we obtain the alpaca yarn that we use to make our premium woven fur:
 
THE ORIGINAL SCHULTE ALPACA
 Current
On the following days
our company and also
the retail store
remain closed
 
30.04.2018
11.05.2018
01.06.2018
30.07. - 19.08.2018
02.11.2018
24.12. - 31.12.2018
Your Steiff Schulte team

 
Index

ALPACA - das Gold der Inkas

Es gibt wenige Dinge auf dieser Welt, die seit Jahrhunderten ihre Einmaligkeit und Seltenheit behalten haben. Schon im Reich der Inkas wurde das seltene und begehrte Edelhaar der Alpacas mit Gold aufgewogen.


Das Alpaca ist nächster Artverwandter des unter strengem Naturschutz stehenden Vicunja, zu dessen Gattung auch das Lama gehört.
 
Die seltenen Tiere leben ausschließlich in halbwilden Herden in Gebirgstälern der Anden in Höhen von bis zu 4.000 Metern. Vor den krassen Temperaturunterschieden zwischen Tag und Nacht schützt sie ihr leichtes und sehr widerstandsfähiges Haarkleid.
 

Das Alpaca-Haar gehört wegen seiner außerordentlichen Eigenschaften zu den feinsten und erlesensten Textilrohstoffen, die die Natur zu bieten hat. Es zeichnet sich durch besondere Feinheit aus, sein Vlies (geschorenes Unterhaar) ist extrem lang, leicht gewellt und außergewöhnlich weich.

Kein Tier muss für die Gewinnung dieses edlen Haares sterben!

Nur alle 2 Jahre werden die Herden von den Indios vorsichtig von Hand geschoren um die kostbare Wolle in der peruanischen Hafenstadt Arequipa, dem Welthandels-Zentrum für Alpaca-Haar, nach Farbtönen und Qualitäten sortiert, anzubieten.

Nur beste Rohware in unverfälschten Naturfarben eignet sich für die weite Reise nach Europa, zu den Spezialisten unter den Spinnereien, von denen wir unsere Alpaca-Garne beziehen und zu unserem edelsten Webfell verarbeiten:

ORIGINAL SCHULTE ALPACA

Index Index